It’s the Little Things

Shhhhhh, can you hear it?  It’s life.  It’s the birds in the morning.  It’s the rain falling on the roof.  It’s  the scramble of a squirrel through the bushes.  I hear it and see it everyday.  Not everyone does though.  Not everyone realizes the miracles that are bestowed upon us each and every day.  Some people need the big things, I guess.  Not me.  Not you either.  I knew if you were here, you would see them.  You would not let them slip by.  You would see them differently, but beautifully just the same.

We have an obligation to teach our children to stop and listen.  To open their eyes to the smallest of possibilities.  To believe in miracles.

I cannot imagine how my life would have been had I not been able to see beauty in the small things.  I can close my eyes and get chills from sensing the vibration of hummingbird wings darting in and out of the Rose of Sharon bush at my grandmother’s house.  How can I still remember so clearly?  Don’t ask me who won an Oscar or who starred in what film or who recorded what song.  I won’t know.  But ask me to describe how it felt to outrun the rain or pop tar bubbles with my big toe or pop the seed pod on a touch-me-not and I can make you believe you are there.

This week I was reminded of the power of prayer.  My sister is home.  There is nothing else to say except ‘thank you’. 

Never underestimate the small stuff.  It is what will get you through this life. 

Did I ever tell you about my childhood collection of broken glass?  It was beautiful!!!!!!!!!

One thought on “It’s the Little Things

  1. beautiful Maggie!

    i love the small gifts that are there for each of us to open … some days i have to look harder than others but when i am in nature it is easy….

    i used to have a skull collection – it was beautiful too… perfectly white, smooth curves, fitting together so well, empty but full all at once…i couldn’t understand why it freaked adults out….

Leave a Reply

