Blessings? What blessings?

I am constantly amazed as people go through the hurdles of their lives.  It’s hard, I know, but one does not have to look far to find they are surrounded by blessings.  Life is a series of challenges.  We magnify them so much they take on a life of their own.  Then the really difficult times come and we are worn out by the small stuff.

As I have spent time with my sister this week, I am reminded to hold dear all the tiny blessings that life gives me each and every day.  I am reminded to have a grateful heart for life can change without any notice.  Anger and frustration appear on the horizon and it is difficult not to give them a permanent home.   Those emotions are valid and protective.  They serve us well as long as we do not give them more power than they deserve.

Rosie, I love you so very much.  I know God will take care of you.  I know how difficult this time is for you.  I wish I had it within me to take all the pain and the suffering away from you.

My friends, today I give you something for consideration.  Things we take for granted.  I hope you will find a way to open your heart today and take in every blessing you have been afforded:

If you can get out of your bed this morning without assistance and walk into your kitchen for coffee – be thankful.
If you can move through your day without falling – be thankful.
If you can sit for hours with family and friends without being in pain – be thankful.
If you do not measure your day by when you take your medication – be thankful.
If you were able to get on the floor with your children or grandchildren and play – be thankful.
If you can get something to eat without assistance from someone else – be thankful.
If you have endless tomorrows to look forward to – be thankful.
If your family loves you enough to care for you when you get sick – be thankful now.

Life is but a moment.  A small breath of time.  We are given it as a sacred treasure to hold for only a short while.  It has never been ours to keep forever and we never know when that time will expire.

To all those friends and family I hold so close, thank you for loving me.  To my nieces and nephews that are going through one of the biggest challenges of a lifetime, I love you with everything in me.  To my sisters and my brother, I don’t know how I would have lived my life without you.  To my children and my grandchildren, know that your presence in my life has made me doubly blessed.  And to my husband, my best friend….thank you for being my safe place to fall.  You all make up my world and it is a very special place to be.

2 thoughts on “Blessings? What blessings?

  1. MagCindy, your blog is lovely. Thank you for the reminder in this post… It’s something I very much needed today. Rosie remains in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

